History BPW

Present in over 90 countries

The first BPW gathered in 1919 in Kentucky, USA. The BPW International was founded in 1930 by the American lawyer Dr. Lena Madesin Phillips. In politically and economically difficult times, she had the vision to form an international association of professional women from all over the world.

Social policy

The goal was and is to create a better future for women with economic security and independence and a strong international, national and local network of relationships. In addition to the USA, England, France, Italy, Canada and Austria were among the founding countries. Today, there are BPW clubs in more than 100 countries.


Represented throughout Switzerland

The history of BPW Switzerland is closely linked to the fight for the women’s right to vote, equal rights and the promotion of women in professional life. Today, the association has about 2300 members and is represented by 40 clubs throughout Switzerland and in all linguistic regions.


BPW

Active for women for 100 years

2020

  • Election of Claudine Esseiva and Beatrice Lüthi as Co-Central Presidents of BPW Switzerland.

2019

  • Election of Claudine Esseiva as Central President of BPW Switzerland.

2016

  • 15th European Conference in Zurich.

2015

  • Election of Elisabeth Bosshart as Central President of BPW Switzerland.

2012

  • Start Project Women on Board: BPW are strongly in favour of equal representation of women in executive positions.

2011

  • President of BPW Switzerland: Monique Ryser.

2009

  • First Equal Pay Day in Switzerland: Equal Pay Day marks the day when women stop working for free, while men receive wages from 1st January.

2008

  • President of BPW Switzerland: Sabine Schmelzer. Gabriella Canonica was the first elected Vice President of BPW International.

2005

  • President of BPW Switzerland: Sanja Ronga.
  • XXV International Congress in Luzern for the 75th anniversary of BPW International.

2002

  • President of BPW Switzerland: Annette B. Isenschmid.
  • Election of Antoinette Rüegg as President of BPW International at the Congress in Melbourne.

1985

  • International Golden Jubilee Congress of BPW International in Montreux.

1983

  • Rosmarie Michel was the second Swiss to be elected President of the BPW International.

1968

  • Madeleine Jaccard became the first French speaking elected Central President of BPW Switzerland. Her presidency was all about the vote on women's suffrage. At that time, BPW Switzerland already had 1800 members.

1967

  • In 1967, under the presidency of Gertrud Waeckerlin, BPW Switzerland joined the Federation of Swiss Women's Organisations BSF (now allianceF).

1962–1966

  • Gertrud Waeckerlin, native from Basel, presided over BPW Switzerland. By the end of her term, there already were 16 regional Clubs.

1959

  • Elisabeth Feller was the first Swiss woman to preside over BPW International.

1956

  • Marta von Greyerz presided over BPW Switzerland. The most significant event of her tenure was undoubtedly the participation of BPW Switzerland in the SAFFA in 1958 in Zurich. More than 100 women's associations were involved, and more than 1.9 million women and men visited the “Schweizeische Ausstellung für Frauenarbeit” (SAFFA, English: Swiss Exhibition for Women's Work), which was exclusively organised and designed by women.

1955

  • Over 500 BPW from about 20 countries travelled to Bern in August 1955 for the 25th anniversary of BPW International. At the official ceremony in the League of Nations’ hall, the women were outraged by the lack of the right to vote of the Swiss women and made this clear during the speech by State Councilor de Senarclens.

1950

  • BPW Switzerland was officially admitted to the International Federation at the International Congress in London. Switzerland impressed their fellow sisters at this congress with a delegation of over 20 women.

1947

  • In Zurich's Hotel Königsstuhl, BPW Switzerland was founded in the presence of 29 women on September 11, 1947. Thirteen women joined BPW Switzerland and elected the Horgen-based manufacturer Elisabeth Feller (1910-1973) as their first president. The close cooperation with the well-known paediatrician Marie Meierhofer resulted in a nursery that is still groundbreaking today. As an employer, Elisabeth Feller lobbied for years for the postulate “equal pay for equal work”. The successful entrepreneur was one of the first women to sit on the boards of major banks and insurance companies. Further, she committed herself with dedication for a generous development and refugee policy. She was the first non-English speaking president of the International Federation of Business and Professional Women and, within this position, a member of various departments of the UN, Vice President of the Swiss Commission for UNESCO, a member of the Swiss Commission for Technical Cooperation and the Committee of the Swiss Foundation for Technical Development.

1930

  • Lena Madesin Philips (1880-1950) founded the BPW International in Geneva on August 30th, 1930, in the presence of 200 women from 16 countries.

1919

  • The first BPW gathered in in Kentucky, USA.

Histoire

Présentes dans plus de 90 pays

Les premières BPW s’associent en 1919 dans l’Etat du Kentucky, USA. En 1930, l’avocate américaine Lena Madesin Philipps fonde les BPW International à Genève. Dans une période politiquement et économiquement difficile, elle a eu la clairvoyance de former une association internationale de femmes professionnelles du monde entier.

Politique sociale

L’objectif était et reste de créer un avenir meilleur pour les femmes, avec sécurité et indépendance économiques et un réseau de relations international, national et régional solide. Outre les États-Unis, l'Angleterre, la France, l'Italie, le Canada et l'Autriche figuraient parmi les pays fondateurs. Il existe aujourd'hui des clubs BPW dans plus de 100 pays,


Représentées dans toute la Suisse

L'histoire des BPW Switzerland est étroitement liée à la lutte pour le suffrage féminin, l'égalité des droits et la promotion des femmes dans la vie professionnelle. Aujourd'hui, l'association compte environ 2300 membres et est représentée par 40 clubs dans toute la Suisse et dans toutes les régions linguistiques.


BPW

Actives pour les femmes depuis 100 ans

2020

  • Élection de Claudine Esseiva et Beatrice Lüthi comme coprésidents centraux de BPW Suisse.

2019

  • Élection d'Claudine Esseiva à la présidence centrale de BPW Suisse.

2016

  • 15th European Conference à Zurich.

2015

  • Élection d'Elisabeth Bosshart à la présidence centrale de BPW Suisse.

2012

  • Lancement du projet Women on Board: Les BPW s’engagent en faveur d'une représentation égale des femmes aux postes de direction.

2011

  • Présidente des BPW Switzerland: Monique Ryser.

2009

  • Premier Equal Pay Day en Suisse: la Journée de l'égalité salariale marque le jour jusqu’auquel les femmes ont dû travailler gratuitement, alors que les hommes perçoivent déjà un salaire à compter du 1er janvier.

2008

  • Présidente des BPW Switzerland: Sabine Schmelzer.
  • Election de Gabriella Canonica comme première vice-présidente des BPW International.

2005

  • Présidente des BPW Switzerland: Sanja Ronga.
  • XXV International Congress à Lucerne à l’occasion des 75 ans des BPW International.

2002

  • Présidente des BPW Switzerland: Annette B. Isenschmid.
  • Election d’Antoinette Rüegg à la présidence des BPW International lors du congrès de Melbourne.

1985

  • Congrès international à l’occasion du Jubilé d'Or des BPW International à Montreux.

1983

  • Rosmarie Michel est la deuxième Suissesse à présider les BPW International.

1968

  • Avec l'élection de Madeleine Jaccard, une membre de Suisse romande devient pour la première fois présidente centrale. Son mandat présidentiel se déroule entièrement sous le signe de la votation sur le suffrage féminin. BPW Suisse compte déjà 1800 membres à l’époque.

1967

  • En 1967, sous la houlette de Gertrud Waeckerlin, les BPW Switzerland rejoignent Alliance de sociétés féminines suisses (ASF) (aujourd’hui allianceF).

1962–1966

  • La Bâloise Gertrud Waeckerlin préside les BPW Switzerland. A la fin de son mandat, il y a déjà 16 clubs régionaux.

1959

  • Elisabeth Feller est la première Suissesse à présider le BPW International.

1956

  • Marta von Greyerz préside les BPW Switzerland. L’événement le plus important durant son mandat est assurément la participation des BPW Switzerland à la SAFFA de 1958 à Zurich. Plus de 100 associations de femmes s’y engagent et plus de 1,9 million de femmes et d’hommes visitent cette deuxième «Exposition nationale suisse du travail féminin» – Schweizerischen Ausstellung für Frauenarbeit (SAFFA) –, exclusivement organisée et conçue par des femmes.

1955

  • Plus de 500 BPW d’une vingtaine de pays se rendent à Berne, en août 1955, à l’occasion du 25ème anniversaire des BPW International. Lors de la cérémonie officielle dans la Salle de la Société des Nations, les femmes sont indignées par l’absence de droit de vote des Suissesses et le font savoir sans ambiguïté lors du discours du Conseiller d’Etat de Senarclens.

1950

  • Les BPW Switzerland sont officiellement admises au sein de la Fédération internationale lors du congrès international à Londres. Avec une délégation de plus de 20 femmes, les Suissesses font forte impression à ce congrès.

1947

  • L’association des BPW Switzerland est fondée le 11 septembre 1947 dans l’hôtel zurichois Königsstuhl, en présence de 29 femmes. 13 femmes adhèrent aux BPW Switzerland et élisent leur première présidente: la fabricante de Horgen Elisabeth Feller (1910-1973). L’étroite collaboration avec la célèbre pédiatre Marie Meierhofer aboutit à la création d’une crèche, qui demeure pionnière aujourd’hui encore. En tant qu’employeuse, Elisabeth Feller use de son influence et s’engage pendant des années pour le postulat «à travail égal, salaire égal». Cette entrepreneuse à succès a été l’une des premières femmes à siéger dans le Conseil d’administration de grandes banques et d’assurances. Parallèlement, elle s’engage également avec conviction pour une politique généreuse dans les domaines de l’aide au développement et de la politique d’asile. Elle est la première présidente non anglophone de l’International Federation of Business and Professional Women et, dans ce cadre, collaboratrice au sein de divers départements de l’ONU, vice-présidente de la Commission suisse de l’UNESCO, membre de la Commission suisse pour la coopération technique et de la Commission de la Fondation suisse pour l’aide technique au développement.

1930

  • Le 30 août 1930, Lena Madesin Philipps (1880-1950) fonde les BPW International à Genève en présence de 200 femmes originaires de 16 Pays.

1919

  • Les premières BPW s’associent en 1919 dans l’Etat du Kentucky, USA.