Equal Pay Day

Equal Pay Day is a national day of action dedicated to raising awareness of the gender pay gap. 

According to the Swiss Earnings Structure Survey (2018), the current salary gap between men and women is 14.4%. Such a gap in pay is illegal and is in breach of the Gender Equality Act contained in the Federal Constitution.

The date on which Equal Pay Day is held changes from year to year as it reflects the salary difference. If a man receives his salary from 1 January 2021, a woman must work 14.4% for free until she also receives a salary... well, that was until 20 February in 2021.

In a number of towns throughout Switzerland, the famous Equal Pay Day bags are distributed on that very day in order to raise the awareness of the general public to the issue of equal pay. Women should be encouraged to negotiate better their wages, and men should realize that they too can benefit from the principle of equal pay for equal work.

BPW Switzerland publishes a briefing with a list of arguments about equal pay. It is available at the BPW Central Office.

Equal Pay Day

L’Equal Pay Day est une journée d’action nationale pour rendre visibles les écarts de salaires entre femmes et hommes.

La différence salariale actuelle s’élève à 14,4%, selon l’enquête sur la structure des salaires suisses (2018). La différence salariale est illégale et contrevient à la loi sur l'égalité ancrée dans la Constitution fédérale.

La date de l’Equal Pay Day change d'année en année, car elle explique la différence de salaire. Si un homme gagne son salaire à partir du 1er janvier 2021, une femme doit travailler 14,4% gratuitement avant de toucher également un salaire... à savoir, jusqu'au 20 février 2021.

Ce jour-là, les fameux sacs de l’Equal Pay Day sont distribués dans différentes villes de Suisse afin de sensibiliser le grand public à la question de l’égalité des salaires. Les femmes devraient être encouragées à mieux négocier leurs salaires et les hommes devraient comprendre qu'ils ont aussi intérêt à ce que le principe du salaire égal à travail égal soit appliqué.

Les BPW Switzerland publient un argumentaire sur l'égalité salariale. Il est disponible auprès du Bureau central BPW.